(As Approved by the Coordination Committee in its meeting held on 25/10/2017 and Adopted by Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya in its EC meeting held on 04/12/2017).

## **STATUTE NO. 9**

## CONSTITUTION AND POWERS OF THE FACULTY

[Refer Section 27 (2)]

- 1. Each faculty shall consist of the following members, namely:
  - (a) The Dean of the Faculty-CHAIRPERSON.
  - (b) All Chairpersons of the Boards of Studies of the subjects comprised in the Faculty.
  - (c) All Professors in the Departments assigned to the Faculty.
  - (d) One College Professor from each department assigned to the Faculty by rotation according to seniority.
  - (e) Two Readers/ Associate Professors of University Teaching Departments/Schools of Studies, two Associate Professors in Affiliated colleges, six Lecturers/ Assistant Professors teaching any of the subjects comprised in the Faculty by rotation according to seniority.

Provided that there shall not be more than one teacher of any single category from any one of the Departments assigned to the Faculty.

- (f) Three persons assigned to the Faculty by the Academic Council from amongst its members.
- (g) Not more than two persons not connected with the University or any college and having expert knowledge of the subject or subject comprised in the Faculty including from persons from professional and regulatory bodies can be co-opted as members under clauses above.

Provided that not more than one person representing any one Department of the Faculty shall be co-opted.

- (h) Not more than two persons not connected with the University or any College and having expert knowledge of the subject or subjects comprised in the Faculty co-opted by persons becoming members under clauses (a) to (g) above. Provided that not more than one person representing any one department of the faculty shall be co-opted.
- (i) Member(s) may be co-opted as per requirement of the concerned Regulatory Body.
- 2. All members of the Faculty other than ex-officio members and the Dean shall hold office for a term of three years.
- 3. One-third of the total membership of the Faculty shall constitute a quorum.

Vide amendment approved by co-ordination committee at its meeting dated 20-12-2000 and 06/07/2007.